Followers

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Muffin Tops and Mushroom Clouds

Hello folks,

I write to you this week plagued with a sore throat, cough and clogged up head. No Weight Watchers this week but according to my home scale, I've gained about two pounds.  It's ok, however because I just zipped up my size 22's.

That's right!  I can get INTO my size 22 Venzia jeans. Will I wear them out? No.

You know that little pudge you get when you zip up your skinny jeans?  It's called a muffin top. Well, when I zipped up my "less fat" jeans, I got a mushroom cloud.

So as I am happy to have zipped them, I will be happier as I lose the inches and lose the clouds and the tops to go with them.  :)

I've been really good about the table salt.  I gave it up cold turkey only to slip starting on Thursday night because with this cold, I can't really taste anything. I've added salt and I've discovered Cholula Hot Sauce. YUM!

Until next week...

Sunday, April 18, 2010

White Gold

I skipped Weight Watchers this week because even though I had exercised and ate right during the week I was afraid of the scale. I was retaining water (anyone who's experienced this knows the icky feeling that goes along with it) so I decided that after feeling so good about what I did this week, I didn't need to be disappointed.

I wrote an entire blog about fear but deleted it because I decided I want to talk about salt.  I use a lot of table salt. I love it. On EVERYTHING! I've salted salty items to make them more salty. I've salted a bit of pasta and then salted more after I ate through the part I salted. Salt! YUM!
I've cut it out in my life before. When I was watching my blood pressure. Now my blood pressure is fine and I'm off medication and I've been using salt more than ever before. Probably because I "couldn't" have it before. I imagine if I am ever declared Diabetes free, I'll probably hunt down those donuts I dumped in the garbage a few months ago.

I've decided that since it was the only factor in me not feeling my best, it's time to give it up.  I'll cook with it and that's about it. If it's on the food already, done. It's mine.  But I won't add it to my food. I started yesterday and I managed to get through the entire day without using salt. 

Hmmm..  I'm craving pretzels....

Sunday, April 11, 2010

I am woman, hear me vacuum.

Sorry that I skipped a week folks! I skipped out on the Weight Watchers meeting last week and enjoyed my Easter weekend with a comedy show in Hermosa Beach (I wasn't performing...saw John Pinette--really funny!) and spent some quality earthquake time with some friends at Camp Pendleton.

This week I remained even as far as my WW meeting. I was quite relieved. In the past two weeks I went to Disneyland, ate the most incredible food for Easter and those bloody Marys surely didn't help matters. :)

I've decided to talk about shopping this week. I happened to be in a mall buying a pair of shoes "looks like a pump, feels like a sneaker." That's EXACTLY what I need, except these look more like Mary Jane's and feel like you are walking on air. Awesome.

On my way out of the mall, I decided, for curiosity's sake, to walk into Macy's. I haven't been in a Macy's in years because I find their sales people pretentious and their clothing hideous.

I've heard rumors that they have a big and tall section and my boyfriend's birthday is coming up so in I went. I happened to come in to the store in the Men's department. It's flipping HUGE... I'm looking... I'm looking... Finally I ask "do you have a big and tall section." "Oh yes, over there in the corner. Near the back wall." I walked over to the weensy big and tall section hidden in the corner. Nothing fancy, same prices as Casual Male. I found a shirt that I wanted to get but instead of telling me "2xlt" or "3xlt" it had the numbers. So I asked a salesperson in the section near the big and tall (see, no one was actually assigned to big and tall) to help me convert the numbers. The young man actually asked me if that info was listed on the shirt. I let him know that if that information was on the shirt, I wouldn't be asking him. He then admitted that he didn't know and then suggested that I hold the shirts next to each other. Awesome. No purchase today.

I asked him where the women's department was and he directed me to an escalator. As I arrived to this, another floor dedicated to one sex, I saw pretty displays of make-up counters and jewelry. I started walking around...looking...looking “Do you have a plus size department?"

I was directed to yet another escalator up to the third floor. I chuckled to myself on my way guessing that the plus size department was probably next to house wares or vacuum cleaners. No joke. As I arrived to the floor dedicated to fat women and house wares, on the right there was a display of Godiva chocolate and on the right, Bissell carpet cleaners and two beaten up chairs that looked like they were ready for the yard sale.

By the way, I've noticed that department stores no longer say plus-sized. The section for the robust is "Women's". Sorry my 48 year old size 7's. You are NOT women, but don't be upset, apparently "women" love overpriced, hideous clothing (actually much of the same clothing that I’ve seen when I shop at Ross but considerably cheaper.)
Have a great week everyone!
xoxo
Charlene

Macy's Third Floor, Westside Pavillion, Los Angeles
near the "Women's" department...